A few months ago, WhatsApp introduced a much-requested feature which allows the user to delete sent messages in a group. The feature is very helpful for users who might have accidentally sent a text to a group which was not supposed to be sent. Luckily, We can now delete a message which was already sent to a group and no one in the group will be able to read it. But it seems the much-requested feature is not completely safe as someone has already discovered a way to read deleted WhatsApp messages on Android. If an incoming message had generated a notification on the phone and it was deleted later by the other person, you can still recover it from the notification log of your device. However, if the notification was cleared or you were in the chat when the message arrived, you cannot retrieve the deleted message.
There are several ways to recover deleted messages which we will discuss in this article.
- Install Notification History application
For this method to work you will need to install Notification History app from the Google Play store. After you have installed the application, open the app and look for a WhatsApp icon to be able to see those deleted messages.
- Notification Log
– Long press on your home screen, then Select widgets.
– Scroll down and find the settings widget.
– Drag the settings widget on your home screen.
– In the new option, select Notification log. (after this whenever you click on this widget, it will take you to your notification history)
– In the notification log, you can find the notification of the messages which were deleted.
- For phones with Stock Android
For phones like Moto, Pixel Phones, Nexus, the settings widget already comes on the home screen. You can find the notification registry from this settings widget.
There are a few limitations to this as well.
- These methods only work with Android 6 (Marshmallow) or higher.
- You can only view about 100 characters for the message.
- If the notification log has been erased then you will not be able to retrieve the message.
- The notification log saves message only for a few hours. After that, the message cannot be recovered.
- You cannot recover images or videos. Only text messages can be recovered.
So next time you send a message, be sure that it is to the right group otherwise, this ‘delete for everyone’ feature is of no use. Also, next time someone deletes a message in your group, you can retrieve it if you are curious. I believe WhatsApp would patch this bug and we would no longer be able to recover deleted messages. But till then, you can use this trick to get your friends in trouble. What do you think about this feature? Are there any other ways you were able to retrieve deleted messages from WhatsApp? Let us know down below.